top of page
Search

URBAN THINKERS CAMPUS 9.0: Urban Thinkers Campus on Land-Based Finance by Smartly


The Urban Thinkers Campus (UTC) is an initiative of the UN-Habitat World Urban Campaign. It serves as a platform for sharing knowledge and brings together various professionals, researchers, experts, academics, community leaders, and stakeholders to discuss and address contemporary urban challenges, especially in the context of climate change.


This Urban Thinkers Campus aims to promote collaboration and the co-creation of solutions for sustainable urban development in line with the New Urban Agenda. The manifesto "The City We Need" advocates for the creation of inclusive, equitable, safe, and sustainable cities. It aims to raise awareness and promote positive changes to achieve green, healthy, well-planned projects in order to meet Sustainable Development Goal 11.


The Urban Thinkers Campus is integral to this process, providing a space for reflection and collective action on critical urban issues. This UTC discusses how land-based finance can assist governments in financing projects and meeting public needs such as transit systems, environmental resilience, and affordable housing.


Experience has shown the potential and increasing adoption of these policies and instruments to address the challenges of the accumulated infrastructure investment backlog and to create more inclusive cities.


________________

Agenda


12 pm to 3 pm GMT (9 am – 12 pm Buenos Aires time)


12 pm to 12.15 pm GTM (9 am to 9.15 am Buenos Aires time). Opening Session: Introduction to Urban Thinkers Campus and Its Goals.

Overview of the event's alignment with the New Urban Agenda (NUA)

  • Cynthia Goytia (Director of the Master's Degree in Urban Economics and Director of the Urban and Housing Policy Research Center (CIPUV), Di Tella University)

  • Analia Pastran (Co-Chair of the World Urban Campaign-UN Habitat and Founder of Smartly Social Enterprise on the SDGs)

  • Christine Auclair (Coordinator of the World Urban Campaign, UN-Habitat Secretariat) (To be confirmed)

  • Dario Judzik (Executive Dean of the School of Government, Di Tella University)


12.15 pm to 1.30 pm GTM (9.15 am to 10.30 am Buenos Aires time). Global Innovations in Land-Based Finance.

Presenting international examples and learning opportunities.

  • Enrique Silva (Vice President of Programs at the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy and Professor at Harvard University)

  • Jane Katz (Vice Chair and Washington Office Representative, Global Urban Development (USA) and CSO Co-chair UN-Habitat World Urban Campaign Steering Committee and General Assembly of Partners)

  • Moderator: Cynthia Goytia (UTDT, Argentina).


1.30 pm to 3 pm GTM (10.30 am to 12 pm Buenos Aires time). Roundtable: Addressing Climate Change through Land-Based Finance.

A focused discussion on the role of land-based finance in climate change adaptation and mitigation.

  • Cynthia Goytia (UTDT, Argentina)

  • Anthony Boanada-Fuchs (Representative of St Gallen University -Switzerland, Colombia-)

  • Daniel Kozak (Argentina)

  • Alex Lord (UK)

  • Moderator: Eric Heikkila (University of Southern California)


3 pm to 4.30 pm GMT: Break (12 pm to 1.30 pm Buenos Aires time)


4.30 pm to 7.30 pm GMT (1.30 pm to 4.30 pm Buenos Aires time)

4.30 pm to 6 pm GMT (1.30 pm to 3 pm Buenos Aires time). Panel: Land-Based Finance into Urban Policy for New Urban Agenda. 

Debating the integration of land-based finance strategies in urban planning and providing affordable housing.

  • Anaclaudia Rossbach (Director of the Latin American Program at Lincoln Institute of Land Policy)

  • Carlos Zeballos Velarde (Co-director of the Sustainability Commission of the UIA, National Director of Technological Affairs of the College of Architects of Peru)

  • Geoffrey Payne (UK)

  • Moderator: Robin King (WRI)


6 pm to 7.30 pm GMT (3 pm to 4.30 pm Buenos Aires time). Roundtable: Land-Based Financial Models: Opportunities and Challenges.

A focused discussion on lessons and recommendations towards implementing land-based finance in cities worldwide.

  • Bautista Pino (Chief of Cabinet, Municipality of 3 de Febrero, Buenos Aires, Argentina)

  • David Amborski (Canada)

  • Martim Smolka (USA)

  • Andres Blanco (BID)

  • Nick Tsivanidis (UC Berkeley) (To be confirmed)

  • Moderator:  Claudio Acioly (International Consultant)


7.30 pm to 7.45 pm GMT (4.30 pm to 4.45 pm Buenos Aires time). Closing Session: Action Plans and Future Directions.

Summarizing key takeaways and developing actionable plans for future implementation.


Lugar: Actividad híbrida - Aula Magna


Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page